LAS VEGAS (AP) — Organizers say seven boxers and 12 others will be the first inductees at the new Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame in Las Vegas.

Inductees to be enshrined Saturday in the inaugural class include boxers Mike Tyson, Larry Holmes, Sugar Ray Leonard, Julio Cesar Chavez, Mike McCallum, Diego Corrales and Oscar De La Hoya.

Hall founder Rich Marotta says ailing former boxing official Mills Lane is among inductees during the event at Monte Carlo Las Vegas Resort and Casino.

Others include official Joe Cortez, promoters Don King and Bob Arum, trainers Eddie Futch and Freddie Roach, and media members Al Bernstein and Royce Feour.

Media consultant Sig Rogich, billionaire businessman Kirk Kerkorian and longtime Nevada Athletic Commission executive Marc Ratner and member James Nave will also be enshrined.


© Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.

This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Leave a Reply