Listen Online - Listen on Mobile | Mobile App Info

Three Rebels Earn Second Team MW Honors

LAS VEGAS – After a seven-win season and its first bowl game in 13 years, UNLV was shutout from the All-Mountain West first team and head coach of the year honors.

Bobby Hauk lead the Rebels to a 7-5 season and a birth in the Heart of Dallas Bowl on January 1st, after winning just six games combined in his first three years on the job. However, Utah State’s Matt Wells was named Coach of the Year for leading the Aggies to the conference championship game.

UNLV did place three players on the All-Mountain West second team, running back Tim Cornett, wide receiver Devante Davis and offensive lineman Brett Boyko.

The Rebels also had seven players receive an honorable mention — defensive backs Frank Crawford and Peni Vea, defensive end Mark Garrick, linebacker Tani Maka, receiver Marcus Sullivan and offensive linemen Cameron Jefferson and Robert Waterman.

Fresno State quarterback Derek Carr won the Offensive Player of the Year award for the second straight year after leading the nation in several categories, including offensive yards (4,983) and passing touchdowns (48).

The other big honors went to Colorado State’s Shaquil Barrett for Defensive Player of the Year, New Mexico’s Carlos Wiggins for Special Teams Player of the Year and San Jose State’s Tyler Winston for Freshman of the Year.


More From CBS Las Vegas

Get Started
Introducing Your New Podcast Network

Listen Live