NHP Plays Hardball With Cell Phone Users
(Las Vegas, NV) –The Nevada Highway Patrol has urged Nevadans to put down the cell phone while driving.
Since legislation was passed in 2011, NHP has issued nearly 12,000 tickets to people driving while using their mobile phones.
The law bans cell phone use while driving and covers texting or reading from a mobile device.
The ban carries a $112 fine for a first offense, $192 for a second and subsequent violations cost $352. The first offense is a non-moving violation, but repeat offenders will receive demerits against their driving record.
Troopers recommend drivers use a hands-free device or refrain from using cell phones while driving.