Nevada Legislature Names New Leaders

View Comments
(photo courtesy: State of Nevada)

(photo courtesy: State of Nevada)

Election Results

(Carson City, NV)  —  New leaders have been chosen for the 2013 Legislature.

Senate Democrats have picked Mo Denis as the new majority leader.  Denis is the cousin of Florida U.S. Senator Marco Rubio.

Republicans have chosen Michael Roberson as their minority leader.

Marilyn Kirkpatrick will become only the second woman ever to serve as Assembly speaker.  Republicans will name their leader tomorrow.

Tuesday’s election left Democrats in control of both houses.  The party now has an 11-to-10 margin in the Senate, and a 27-to-15 majority in the Assembly.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,467 other followers