LAS VEGAS (AP) — Pittsburgh’s Evgeni Malkin has won the Ted Lindsay Award as the NHL’s top player in voting by his peers. The NHL scoring champion received the award at the league’s postseason awards ceremony. He also won the Hart Trophy as the most valuable player.

Malkin had 50 goals and 59 assists, easily winning the NHL scoring title by 12 points over Tampa Bay’s Steven Stamkos, his fellow Lindsay Award nominee. Malkin’s list of accomplishments included four five-point games.

In other NHL awards:

— St. Louis’ Ken Hitchcock has won his first Jack Adams Award as the NHL’s best coach after his midseason turnaround of the Blues. Hitchcock beat out Ottawa’s Paul MacLean and the New York Rangers’ John Tortorella for the award. Hitchcock went 43-15-11 while dramatically changing the Blues’ fortunes after replacing the fired Davis Payne in November

— Ottawa’s Erik Karlsson has won his first Norris Trophy as the NHL’s top defenseman. The 22-year-old Swede, an offensive defenseman, had 78 points in a breakout season — 25 points more than any other defenseman.

— Boston’s Patrice Bergeron has won the Selke Trophy as the NHL’s best defensive forward.

— Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers has won his first Vezina Trophy as the NHL’s top goalie.

— Montreal left wing Max Pacioretty has won the Masterton Trophy for his remarkable comeback from a serious back injury.

— Florida defenseman Brian Campbell has won the Lady Byng Trophy for sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct.

— Colorado Avalanche left wing Gabriel Landeskog has won the Calder Trophy as the NHL’s top rookie.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Listen Live